An Inspiring, Out of the Ordinary Salad Dressing

 

Today Dale has given us, not an ordinary but an extraordinary salad dressing. Come to think of it, most of his recipes are anything but ordinary.

Dale’s World:

Orange Walnut Salad Dressing

I have new neighbors across the hall. They are a very young couple with a nine month old little boy named Isaac. He has the widest darkest eyes of any baby I have seen and he likes me! I invited them to dinner last Friday. Since I didn’t know their personal tastes, I decided to serve things that were not too far from ordinary. The first course was a salad of romaine, arugula and radishes. As I was preparing the greens, I thought, this may be too ordinary. So I decided to give it a dressing that would entice the taste buds a little more. Here it is.

You will need:

Zest from one Orange                  ¼ cup of White Wine Vinegar.

Juice from 1 Orange                  ¼ cup of Honey

½ cup of Walnut Oil                  ½ tsp. off Salt

1/3 cup of chopped walnuts

Preparation:

  1. Take the zest from the orange with a zester. Do this before you cut and squeeze the orange.
  2. Cut and squeeze the orange.
  3. Chop the walnuts if you need to. I usually buy the chopped kind because they are less expensive than the halves.

Mix:

  1. Put all of the ingredients, except the nuts, in a bowl, or a blender or a food processor. You can mix the ingredients in a bowl with a whisk or an immersion blender (sometimes called a wand).  The blender and immersion blender will emulsify the ingredients so that they never separate. The whisk and food processor do not emulsify quite as well, but you still get the right flavors. Just stir it before putting it on the salads.
  2. Add the nuts.
  3. Drizzle the dressing (I like how that sounds: Drizzle the Dressing.) on each salad right before serving. RuthAnn just got a new “drizzle spoon”, so this recipe is for her.
Salad Ingredients

Salad Ingredients

Food for Thought:

Out of the Ordinary

We all know about “ordinary” or “run of the mill”—the same old store-bought dressing, the same old outfit, the daily chores like washing dishes. An extraordinary word for dailiness is quotidian, which means commonplace, trivial, recurring every day. A quotidian fever can be of great concern. A quotidian day can be very boring.

Because I don’t like boring and because I know God is not boring, I recently  decided to keep my eyes open for anything strange or different. Yesterday, I went to our downtown YMCA for my routine exercise class and was startled to see a long white bus marked: USA Olympic Training Center. And even as I walked toward the entrance, the trainees began streaming out the doors. They all wore black shorts and had backpacks.  Each one of them exuded a striding confidence that was extraordinary.

Inside everyone was talking about the teams’ incredible racquet ball expertise.

As I gave the receptionist my YMCA card,  I told him I was part of the Olympic Team!

He laughed and said, “You go to it.”

Something that might seem ordinary but can turn out to be extraordinary, is the practice of contemplation. Just as the colors are brighter, when you are in love, so the world around us takes on a new fascination when we practice that inner stillness which focuses on God.

Pascal said, . . .”all humankind’s miseries derive from not being able to sit quietly in a room alone.”

I’ll never forget the day I first met the founder of The Sanctuary ministry. We were both attending a writing conference at the Glen Eyrie castle in Colorado Springs. We met each other as we enjoyed fruit juice and coffee in the reception area.

Loretta was dark haired with dark eyes that pooled with a depth of peace I’d never seen in any one before. As I got to know her during the days of the conference, I learned she was a Reverend whose primary vocation was to spend her time in contemplative prayer.

Eighteen years later I’m still in contact with her. In a recent newsletter she shared how spending time in contemplation helped her through a difficult job in the early years of her career.  Practicing stilling her heart before God, and letting him show her who she was and who he was for her, gave her new insight and creative responses to her work.”

She writes that all the colors seemed brighter. “Driving home from my job, . . . I saw the sun setting behind the black silhouettes of winter trees and felt compelled to slow down, drive onto the shoulder, and stop to gaze upon this beauty. Objects and scenes that I normally would have given a quick nod to. . . now held me with wonder and absorption.”(Loretta F. Ross, Holy Ground, Vol.24, No.1, Spring 2013)

Something extraordinary in an ordinary day? “Be still and know that I am God.” My mercies are new every morning.

—RuthAnn Ridley

Check out Loretta Ross’s blog at: http://www.the praying life.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

