Tasty Side Dish for Thanksgiving

This year we are having Thanksgiving at my daughter’a house in Denver. It will be vegetarian with a vegetarian roast I’m interested to try.

But I’m willing to bet a nickel that the pungent vegetable side dish Dale has for us this week will go just as well with a vegetarian roast as we found it does with beef and Dale found it does for chicken. I fixed it last night, and both my husband and son  loved it.

So go for it. Try something different for you Thanksgiving meal, something  in season. Something to be thankful for on this coming Thanksgiving Day.

Dale’s World: 

Carrot, Parsnip and Turnip Puree

While summer has its bounty of delicate fruits and vegetables, fall and winter gives us some hearty vegetables laced with flavor and abundant vitamins and minerals. Most of them lack the brilliant colors of summer, rather homely, in fact, so they  don’t catch our eye. Bright orange carrots are the exception. I have found that mixing carrots with the colorless root vegetables not only tastes good, but  the mixture satisfies my need to have beautiful food on my plate. This puree of root vegetables does exactly that, and does it with very little effort.

You Will Need:

4 medium Carrots         Salt

4 medium Parsnips         2 Tbs. freshly squeezed Lemon Juice

1 medium Turnip                  1 Tbs. Sugar

Water                           1 pinch of White Pepper

1 pinch of Allspice

Carrots for Color

Carrots for Color

Carrots for Color

Preparation:

  1. Peel the vegetables and chop them into rough pieces.
  2. Put the vegetables in a pot and cover them with water.

Cook:

  1. Bring the pot of vegetables to a boil.
  2. Cover the pot with a lid and turn the heat down to a simmer.
  3. Cook them until they are soft.
  4. With a slotted spoon, put the cooked vegetables in a food processor and puree. Save the cooking liquid; don’t throw it out.
  5. You could puree with an emersion blender, an electric mixer or a potato masher, but I find that the food processor makes the quickest and most through puree.
  6. Add just enough of the cooking liquid to make the puree moist and light. This puree should be a little more moist than mashed potatoes.
  7. Add the seasonings, a pinch at a time until you get the balance you like.
  8. Last night I had this with roasted chicken. It was a very good pairing.
  9. I will add this to my recommendation: this is a totally fat free delight.
  10.                                                                             —Dale McClure

Food for Thought:

How shall we give thanks?

Today we approach yet another Thanksgiving, but the holiday never grows old, does it? Unless we forget to give thanks. For some years now, we Americans have fallen into the habit of saying, “Thanks,” instead of, “ Thank you.” But there’s a problem. “Thanks” gives credit to no one.

The Bible says,Every good and perfect gift is from above and coming down from the Father of heavenly Lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. (James 1:17 ).   Therefore, I want to express my thanks to God, not to the universe, nor my own strength nor another’s, but to God Himself, I give the credit for the blessings that rise before me. So many blessings these last two weeks.

My Thanksgiving Girl

My Thanksgiving Girl

Thank you for the blessings I could see:

* the Christmas cactus that came into full bloom on the very morning of my birthday.

* My servant-hearted son who mopped the kitchen floor, swept the front porch and tackled the dishes when we had company

* The tropical flowers I found to arrange for our Island Meal—bright against the outside snow.

* a Sunday the next day, your day, Lord, a day of rest. Thank you for the blessed renewal of sleep.

Thank you for the blessings I couldn’t see:

—Your silent “Happy birthday” words to me as I gazed at the blooming cactus,            —The revival of an important friendship

—The deep thanksgiving that rose within me for the privilege of serving spiritual mentors who have built us up and loved us for many years.

—For your mercies, new every morning, when I strayed.

—And most of all for your beloved Presence palpable, when I stop to seek you. There were times, not so long ago, when I could not find you, but now you are always there.

This last week in the darkness of early morning and the frigidness of winter storm, I waited before God, and he filled my soul with light. It made me exalt the Lord Jesus and celebrate His lovely name.

Snow in November

Snow in November

Now let’s go onward toward the feast. God loves for us to celebrate. Over and over the Bible reports, “the Lord proclaimed a feast.” Nehemiah writes that when the Israelites recovered the Word of God, God told them to celebrate. “This is a day sacred to our Lord,” said Nehemiah, “ Do not grieve. For the joy of the Lord is your strength…Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks.. .” Feast for seven days!!!!

Sometimes the Bible uses the Greek word anthomologeomai (How’s that for a word?) for giving thanks. It means to acknowledge fully, to celebrate fully with praise and thanksgiving.

May you celebrate fully this year, feasting with thanksgiving and praise.

(And don’t forget the perfect complement for your meat: carrot, parsnip and turnip puree.) 

This entry was posted in Devotionals, Holiday, Side Dishes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tasty Side Dish for Thanksgiving

  1. Hi Mom!! This is such a great entry. I know exactly how you feel when you describe that little miracle on your birthday. I believe that those little moments are actually *the* moments. Thank you for writing in such a deep and thoughtful way. I’m sorry that I won’t be there for thanksgiving this year, but I am VERY excited that I’ll be there soon for Christmas!

    Love,
    Stephen

  2. Diane Hazel says:

    Hello, RuthAnn. Thank you for 3 things with this post. The seasonal vegetables are so easy to forget, but I always love them when I remember to include them! This recipe looks wonderful. And so healthy. The thoughts were beautifully expressed. And, lastly, but very sincerely, THANK YOU for the smile when I saw the photo of the Thanksgiving girl! I love her!!!!!

  3. robin ridley says:

    hi, mom! your vegetarian/vegan daughter here. 😉 i enjoyed reading your post and would love to try this carrot-turnip-parsnip purée…is it too late to whip up another one? see you soon! xoxo

    • ruthann1 says:

      Dear Robin,

      I’ve already been to the grocery store this morning and don’t have everything I need for the puree. But we have some left over that still tastes very good. I’ll bring a tupper ware dish of it, enough for a couple of people.

      Love, Mom RuthAnn Ridley Inspiring Cuisine “From a chore to a joy” inspiringcuisine.com ruthannridley@earthlink.net

Leave a Reply

