An Inspiring Curried Chicken Stir Fry

 Well, it’s another beautiful fall day in Colorado. I’ve heard the aspens in the mountains have turned and are more brilliant than ever. Our apple tree is prolific these days. The result is a host of Apple Crisps, my husband’s favorite dessert. No snow yet, but it’s time to start thinking soups and hearty meals.

Autumn Days of Life, Painting by Dale McClure

Autumn Days of Life, Painting by Dale McClure

Today we have a family recipe from my husband’s first cousin Larry George.

Larry is a gourmet cook with a flair. I think you will have fun cooking this dish with its bright colors and simplicity.

Larry’s Curried Chicken Stir Fry

 You will need:

3 Red Bell Peppers                                    Chicken (2 or 3 breasts)

Green Onions (3 or 4 bunches)                 Curry to taste

1 Medium Egg Plant, diced                        Steamed Rice

Fresh Ginger, peeled and diced               V-8 juice to taste (This is my 

                                                                       addition; optional) 

 Preparation:

 Cut or dice the first 5 ingredients.

Cook:

Mix and stir-fry first 6 ingredients until vegetables are done.

Serve over steamed rice.

[Larry George]

 

Food for Thought:

Some years ago, when I was is the midst of growing anxiety and depression, I complained to a friend about needing to cook a meal for my family every night.

Gently, she reminded me that women down through the ages have shown their love for their families by cooking for them.

When we were up in the mountains with our Texas cousins last month I was experiencing a great deal of pain. One night I watched Bob’s cousin Larry prepare his gourmet stir-fry, and as I watched it come into being and smelled the spices, I noticed my stomach was growling. When my portion was dished up, I fell to it with gusto.

The pain was forgotten. It was a taste of heaven.

Recently some dear friends gave both my husband and me a leather-bound copy of a classic devotional book called Daily Light. Each day offers verses straight from scripture on one particular topic. One day the topic was about how God helps the weak and broken-hearted. Two of the verses spoke to me about my current battle with walking and physical therapy. “Therefore strengthen the hands which hang down and the feeble knees and make straight paths for your feet lest so that what is lame may not be dislocated, but rather be healed” (Hebrews 12:12-13).

Sometimes we are tempted to give up. But others feel that way too. We Christ-ones are responsible to let God strengthen us so we can bring healing to others. One way to do this is to prepare an enticing meal. It may be for a friend who has lost a well-loved husband, a family member who is struggling with his career, or someone who has simply had a bad day.

Cooking is important. When it’s done with love and skill, it encourages. A meal like Larry’s Curried Chicken stir fry can put soul into the hurting.

[RuthAnn Ridley]

Brilliant fall trees

Brilliant fall trees

This entry was posted in Entreés, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

