An Inspired Classic of a Cake

 

Remember the old song, “If I knewed youse a-comin,I’d a-baked a cake, hired a band. . .”

Well, if you’ve ever wondered, this is that cake you can bake for company, birthdays, going-away dinners and just everyday delight. It’s the one I like to make from scratch, and that’s the only way to do it, don’t you think?

—RuthAnn

Yellow Cake with Fudge Frosting

You will need:

 

¾ cup butter (room temperature)                        1 ¼ cups milk

3 eggs                                                                        ½ teaspoon salt

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour                                    1 ¾ cup sugar

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder                                    1 ½ teaspoon vanilla

 

  1. Grease and flour 2 round cake pans. Set aside. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a mixing bowl beat butter for 30 seconds. Gradually add sugar, beating until well combined. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Alternately add flour mixture and milk, beating on low speed until just combined. Spread batter into pans.
  3. Bake 20 to 25 minutes for 9-inch pans, 30 to 35 minutes for 8-inch pan. An inserted wooden toothpick should come out clean. Cool cake layers in pans for 10 minutes. Remove layers from pans.
  4. Frost with RuthAnn’s family recipe for Fudge Frosting.

—Cake recipe from Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, c. 2006

 

Fudge Frosting

 You will need:

4 Tablespoons cocoa                        1 box powdered sugar

4 Tablespoons milk                 1 teaspoon vanilla

1 stick butter

 

  1. During last 5 minutes of cake baking time, melt the butter, milk and cocoa in a saucepan.
  2. Add the powdered sugar slowly, stirring as you go along until you get the right frosting consistency.
  3. Frost the hot cake, bottom layer, then add top layer and finish frosting.

 

This is truly the best chocolate frosting I’ve ever tasted! (RuthAnn)

 

Food for Thought:

(Watch for Inspiring Cuisine on Pinterest)

 Hoping for Dessert:

 Does the expectation of your favorite dessert at the end of a meal give you hope? I asked several members of my family this question, and they all gave a resounding, “Yes!”

Emily Dickenson wrote, “Hope is a feather that lights upon the soul and sings the song without the words and doesn’t stop at all.” (Check)

Poet George Herbert said, “He that lives in Hope danceth without Music.”

Ana Jacob says, “The wings of HOPE carry us soaring high above the driving winds of life.”

Hope in the tender and loving Providence of God

Hope in the tender and loving Providence of God

What gives you hope? We asked this question of a group of Christian Seniors who gathered in our home recently to explore the topic of hope. Some of the answers were: “Helpful, loving children, things that relieve pain like water therapy, answered prayer, God’s obvious intervention in our lives, the hope of eternal life” (Titus 3:7).

God has been teaching me lately about how crucial it is to have hope, biblical hope, not just wishing hope—hope in his loving and tender Providence for all that lies ahead in our lives.

The anxiety that so often plagues me has gotten wound up this year in the decreasing health of my husband and the wondering of what in the world I should do without him. It’s been tangled in the struggles of my son, the shaky faith of some of my family. And my own waning strength for all the tasks I see ahead, the duties, the commissions, the call and will of God. For which I am not sufficient.

But God is helping me in palpable ways. We recently experienced an example of his loving and tender Providence when my husband and I were driving along a trafficked highway, and he began to feel he was going to blackout. I took the wheel and we turned off at the nearest exit, which just “happened” to be the exit that led to an Urgent Care facility. Not only that, it was a clinic where people knew my husband, one where he had worked in times past. And we hadn’t even thought of that. They took care of him, and after several hours, we were able to turn our faces toward home, accompanied by a cadre of two sons who “happened to be in town,” a son-in-law and our grandson.

Since then the melody of the promise in Psalm 34:7—“The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them”—has played on and on in my mind. God intervened, God was with us! He keeps his promises and will continue to do so to the end of our lives.

Earlier this week I went to a silent retreat for two days with God. There He brought to my attention a prayer by St. Claude La Colombiere entitled A Commendation to the Providence of God. It spoke to me deeply. Here are some excerpts:

“Loving and Tender Providence of my God,

Into your hands I commend my spirit.

To you I abandon my hopes and fears,

My desires and repugnances,

My temporal and eternal prospects.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Though my faults are many, my miseries great,

My spiritual poverty extreme,

My hope in You surpasses all.

 

Though temptations should assail me,

I will hope in you.

Though I break my resolutions,

I will look to you confidently for grace to keep them at last.

 

You are my kind, compassionate and indulgent Parent.

I am your devoted [daughter].

 

“Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint”(Isaiah 41:10).

This is the kind of hope that is “an anchor for the soul, firm and secure” (Hebrews 6:19).

And now a prayer for you:

“May the God of green Hope fill you up with joy, fill you up with peace,so that your believing lives, filled with the living-giving energy of the Holy Spirit will brim over with hope”(Romans 15:13).

This entry was posted in Desserts, Devotionals, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Inspired Classic of a Cake

  1. tracey Anderson says:

    Ruth Ann, once again I am so blessed and encouraged reading your blog. Thank you for sharing your heart and inspiring me to walk the journey with hope.

  2. ruthann1 says:

    Dear Tracey,
    How good to hear from you! Will you be registering for Precepts this Fall? I pray God will be helping you mightily through your current family needs.
    Love,
    RuthAnn

Leave a Reply

