Inspiring Rice Vinegar Salad Dressing

An Inspiring Rice Vinegar Salad Dressing

 

I’m looking at the purest red geraniums I’m ever seen, a gift from our kindred-spirit cousins. The flowers reign on my side deck and are cast against a backdrop of deep green lawn and trees. We are approaching the fall season. Less heat. More rain. We’ve even had new snow on Pikes Peak. Early for Colorado Springs.

But right now I’ve been trying to think of what recipe will bring you delight. I decided on my all-time favorite homemade salad dressing. When our three children were still at home, but old enough to take care of themselves, my husband and I stepped out every Friday evening for a date night. Often we headed for a nearby restaurant called Mayfield’s. They had gourmet homemade rolls and a stellar salad dressing. Before the restaurant closed, they gave me the recipe for both, and I make the salad dressing every time we have company and sometimes when we don’t. It’s mild with a slight tang and good!

 

RuthAnn’s World:

 

Mayfield’s Dressing

You will need:

½ cup rice vinegar

1/8 cup lemon juice

1 ½ Teaspoons mustard

pinch white pepper

pinch salt

1 cup oil

1/8 cup honey

 

Pour all ingredients into a mason jar or cruet. I have a tall Italian looking cruet which is fun. Shake vigorously. (Or you can pour the ingredients into a bowl and beat till blended.)

Food for Thought:

 

You’re making a salad. You throw different things in the bowl: lettuce, tomatoes, celery, slight onion rings and maybe some craisins. Then you toss it with a salad dressing you’ve made ahead. You’ve made the salad dressing first, one you know pleases, because somewhere deep inside you, you realize it is the salad dressing that makes the salad. It is priority.

 Salad

I’ve found living life according to well-thought through priorities is a great load-lifter. None of us can do it all. Some seasons of life will dictate different priorities in your cooking and in your life. Soups are more a priority in the winter than in the summer. Pie more a priority during the holidays than other seasons.

As you move into an older season of your life, you may realize it’s time to cultivate new friendships and renew old ones. Or it may be time to tend to that root of bitterness which is starting to grow within you before it gets out of hand.

Then there’s the dailies. We wake up in the morning of what bodes to be a busy day. A thousand things are rolling around in our heads. But the top priority, the one that will make the day, is time with the Lord. Even if it’s only ten minutes, say, seven minutes reading the Word and three minutes praying, it will make a difference. I think it was Martin Luther who said that when he had a busy day, he spent twice as much time with the Lord. When we do this, Jesus gives the strength and insight we need for a truly successful day.

When our three children were little, I would ask the Lord each morning: what one thing do you want me to do today? What is your priority for me? At the end of the day, if all I got done was that one thing, I felt before the Lord, it had been, a successful day.

Another hint for ferreting out the priorities is to make a list of things you feel you need to do that day, then rearrange the list in the order of what is priority. Here’s an example from my life.

  1. Go to the grocery store.
  2. Give three hours to part-time job (for me, writing my novel and keeping up the blog)
  3. Pay bills
  4. Exercise
  5. Write my compassion child
  6. Make my husband’s favorite dessert
  7. Pick up makeup from my Mary Kay lady.
  8. Mail letter to Stephen.
  9. Order books.

 

When I rearranged it, according to priorities, this is the way it looked:

  1. Part-time job (Blog is overdue)
  2. Walk (I didn’t exercise yesterday.)
  3. Mail letter. (reimbursing my son for purchasing my new Magic mouse)
  4. Pick up Make-up. (I’m totally out, and tomorrow is Sunday and church.)
  5. Order books. (Need one for a gift and two for me, I’m out of books to read.)
  6. Write my compassion child. (It’s been too long.)

 

As far as making a trip to the grocery store, I realized there wasn’t anything I needed that day. The bills weren’t due for three weeks. I decided to wait until Labor Day to make my husband’s favorite dessert. Then it could do double duty. The whole process of prioritizing a list was enlightening. I felt a load lifted.

Matthew 6:31 and 33 give us overall guidelines for setting priorities as we seek to walk with Christ. “Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or “What will we wear for clothing?’. . . But seek first His kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you” (NASV).

Studying the Word

Studying the Word

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

