Inspired to Make A Spicy Sour Cream Pie

Inspired to Make A Spicy Sour Cream Pie

We have ten inches of snow here in Colorado Springs, and it’s April 4th. God says, “It’s a day to stay at home and rest.”

I’m alert to this, because I raced about too much in February and March and am now in the process of exploring and practicing different ways to rest.

One thing I do if I need to cook, is choose simple recipes made of ingredients I have on hand. This family recipe for sour cream pie is one of them, and it’s delicious.

 

Sour Cream Pie

Ingredients needed:

For the piecrust:

1 ½ cup flour

4 Tablespoons butter

½ teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons Shortening

3 or more tablespoons ice water

 

  1. Place all ingredients in the food processor and pulse a few times until the butter and flour are the size of fine gravel—not sand. Add 3 Tablespoons of ice water and pulse 2 or 3 times. Grab a handful of the mixture and squeeze. It if doesn’t hold together, add another Tablespoon of water and repeat the process. Pulse only a little.
  2. Roll out the dough and fit into pie plate. Pierce bottom with fork pricks.
  3. Bake in a 400 degree oven until edges are lightly browned

A Spicy Sour Cream Pie

For the filling and topping:

 

Ingredients needed:

 

3 egg yolks

1 whole egg

½ cup sugar

¼ teaspoon cloves

½ teaspoon cinnamon

½ cup thick sour cream

 

  1. Cook and stir in a heavy saucepan until thick.
  2. Cool these ingredients slightly. Pour them into the baked shell. Cover them with meringue made with 3 egg whites.
  3. Bake the pie in a slow oven (Around 300 degrees) for 15 to 20 minutes.

 

 

 

Food for Thought: Ways to Rest

Sometimes we realize we are exhausted and need to focus on rest, instead of work. Doctors prescribe rest, and the Word of God prescribes a rhythm of rest throughout our lives to remind us that it’s not all up to us.

Other recipes I use when I’m tired are lemon bread, ginger cookies and a tomato salad you can find in the Summer Dinner section of our Inspiring Cuisine cookbook. (Click on Get the Book at the top of our home page.)

Bob’s Aunt Lib used to say, “I don’t cook on Saturday night.” Instead Aunt Lib made Frito Chili Pies by filling individual sacks of Fritos with heated canned chili, diced onion and grated cheese. Voila! In minutes she’d thrown together a supper everyone loved.

One thing that is a must for me from time to time is to rest my mind. A way to do this is                   is to draw and jot important thoughts that come to mind in the white spaces of the page. It’s a different way of thinking.

I’m also discovering that the Adult coloring books you see everywhere these days really are good tools for calming the mind. My daughter gave me a coloring book journal for Christmas. It’s perfect: words and coloring juxta-positioned. We’ve even done some Mother/Daughter coloring in it together and felt the rest and peace grow and grow.

Of course, we also need rest for our bodies. One thing my husband and I are beginning to do, since we are now limited in how much we can travel, is plan “Stay-cations.” Sometimes we book a suite at the local Marriot Residence Inn on the other side of town and spend a long week-end reading, playing games, napping, going out to dinner. Other times we set aside a week at home for rest. We cancel all our appointments and fill the days with naps and leisure activities.

One exercise that helps rest my soul is making a list of things I’m thankful for. Another, at a different time, is to make a list of my worries. After I make the list of worries, I cast them on the shoulders of the Lord, as He has encouraged us to do. The last step of the exercise is to tear up the sheet of paper with the worries on it and throw it in the trash. Now it’s all in God’s hands.

God doesn’t want us to be racing around all the time. Can you imagine Jesus rushing? In weary, stale times, think of fun instead of duty. Try a picnic lunch of sandwiches and chips spread out on the living room floor with quilts and cushions. Top off your simple repast with a slice of spicy sour cream pie.

“Come to me all you who labor and are heavily burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke on you and learn of me, for I am gentle and humble of heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and MY burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

May Jesus bless you with His rest today,

RuthAnn Ridley

Sleeping like a Baby

This entry was posted in Desserts, Devotionals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

