Inspiring Orange and Coconut Cookies

This summer has been one of far-flung traveling for many people we know. My hairdresser and her husband took a cruise on the Baltic Sea. They stepped into many Scandinavian countries and also spent interesting time in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Another couple traveled to Ireland and spent several days walking green trails. A dear friend and her husband embarked on a cruise down to the Panama Canal as a 25th anniversary celebration. And I just learned that our Aerobic Class Instructor will soon vacation in Germany.

Things have changed for my husband and me, and we can’t travel as much as we used to, but we try to be creative with our time and take mini-vacations. One of my creative pastimes, as you know, is cooking. And I’ll have to tell you, I’m excited about the creative possibilities of the recipe we have for you today. Dale has outdone himself.

 

Dale’s World:

Orange Coconut Cookies

 Cookies are right for many occasions. This is an elegant cookie for special times – perhaps with a new friend and your favorite coffee.

For the Cookie – You will need:

¾ cup of Butter                                    2 cups AP Flour

½ cup of granulated Sugar                  1 ½ teaspoons Baking Powder

1 Egg                                                        ½ teaspoon of Salt

1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract                    ¾ cup of flaked Coconut

Prepare:

  1. Position one rack to the center of the oven.
  2. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Mix:

1, Cream the sugar and butter until smooth..

2. Add the egg and beat until light and fluffy.

3. Add the other ingredients and beat until thoroughly combined.

4. Portion the dough onto ungreased cookie sheets in 2 or 3 teaspoon balls. A small scoop with a mechanical release works best.

5. Press the balls of dough down with a floured fork and press down a second time at a 45 degree angle – like you usually see peanut butter cookies,

6. Bake one sheet pan at a time, for about 10 minutes.

 

For the Filling – You will Need:

 

½ cup of butter                                    2 Tablespoons of Orange juice

3 cups of Confectioners’ Sugar             1 Tablespoon Orange Extract

 

Mix:

  1. Soften the butter.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and mix together
  3. Add more orange juice or sugar to get a nice spreadable consistency.

 

Assemble:

 

  1. When cookies are cool, frost the bottoms of half of them.
  2. Press a frosted cookie and an unfrosted cookie together to make a sandwich.
  3. Don’t eat them all – share them with someone else.

 

Inspiring Cuisine Book Cover

Our cookbook!

Food for Thought:

 

Lately I’ve been thinking a great deal about change. In other Inspiring Cuisine blogs we’ve discussed the importance of newness and variety. You may never have tried a cookie quite like today’s offering. It has coconut, and it also has a filling: an orange one. This cookie is different, fun to work on it. The change is refreshing.

But as we grow older, other kinds of change catch us unaware, leaving us in a limbo we have to fight our way through. I have a dear friend who is moving into her second month of an empty nest. She’s lonely and depressed and asking herself, “Who am I now? What am I supposed to do?”

Years ago I used to frequent a gracious old hotel called the Writers Manor. It was situated on a corner of Colorado Blvd. in Denver, and was a perfect place for a writer to seclude herself and focus on her writing. One day, however, a sign went up announcing the hotel was closing. Before I knew what had happened, they’d filled up the hotel swimming pool with dirt and razed the buildings to the ground. In their place, some company built two restaurants and a Best Buy. Can you imagine?

The first time I saw the new buildings, I was stunned. It was as if my special place had never been there. Gone forever. I shook myself. Am I losing my mind? How could change come so quickly and completely? Vanished now, a part of the past. Alive only in memory. I had to find a new place to write.

As the years go by, change leaps into our lives faster and faster. We find ourselves constantly re-adjusting. We begin to understand the concept of Future Shock. Our only hope is to focus on our Jesus, our God, who is “the same yesterday, today and forever.”(Hebrews 13:8).

“Show me the way, Lord, guide me step by step. Turn this confusion into something good as you have promised to do in Romans 8:28. ‘And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called, according to his purpose.’”

When we receive a medical diagnosis that startles us, we can remember that His compassion fails not and “His love endures forever” (Psalm 136:1)

When we have to make a difficult change to our diet or move from the house we’ve always called home or deal with the death of a close friend or relative, we can claim and hold on to God’s promise: “Trust in the Lord with all thy heart and lean not to thy own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

More and more these days I find myself living by the verse, “As thy days, so shall thy strength be.” Things aren’t as easy as they used to be. I need to walk into each day of activity—whether it’s grocery shopping, working in the church library, helping a disabled friend shop, or spending the day writing—praying this verse. I sense His presence with me.

What changes are you struggling with these days? Bring them all to God. He wants us, to call unto him expectantly and watch him answer us and show us great and mighty things we know not. (Jeremiah 33:3 paraphrase).

He is faithful.

—RuthAnn Ridley

Crimson Chyrsanthemums

This entry was posted in Devotionals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiring Orange and Coconut Cookies

  1. Mom – I really loved this one! Wow it was really great to read your remembrance of the Writer’s Manor. I had forgotten about that place, but reading this reminded me of how much you loved going there, and I think that really cool water park was nearby (Celebrity Sports Center – also torn down) as well as a pretty cool old movie theater. I think it’s nice, though, that Robin and her family live near there, and I bet you think of the Writer’s Manor every time you pass by that area. (I always remember the water park – hah!) The verses are really helpful, and appropriate to each situation you are describing. Can you shed more light on what “As thy days, so shall thy strength be” really means? Is it saying that we’ll feel stronger simply by making better choices through the day? Love you mom, and thanks for the new blog! :] – Stephen

  2. ruthann1 says:

    Dear Stephen,
    Thank you so much for your comment on the blog. Were you writing this at 3:45 A.M.” Are you okay? I’m praying for you and Mina.

    “As thy days, so shall thy strength be”—The way I understand it is that as you walk with God, He will give you all the strength you need for each day. Off to a big grocery shopping, taking this verse with me.
    Love,
    Mom

    P.S. Tell Mina, “Hi!”

    • Doing great! I just woke up and had a little insomnia that’s all. A perfect time to catch up on your blog :]] Ohhhhh! OK that probably should have seemed more obvious that trust in God is implied. It’s powerful.

      We’re having a blast so far, and Mina says hi too. We went to see John Williams conduct his music!! He’s 90 now, and this was something I’ve wanted to see and hear my entire life!

      Love you Mom.

Leave a Reply

